European union


The Irish parliament (House of the Oireachtas)
Chaiperson: Rory O'Hanlon
Members: 166

Parliamentary groupFianna Fail
Information for the partyFianna Fáil (fē'ənə fäl) , Irish political party, organized in 1926 by opponents of the Anglo-Irish treaty of 1921 establishing the Irish Free State and setting up Northern Ireland as part of the United Kingdom. Led by Eamon De Valera, the party gained control of the government in 1932 and pursued a policy of complete political separation from Great Britain. Except for the years 1948–51 and 1954–57, it held power continuously until 1973, when it lost to an alliance of the Fine Gael and Labour parties. Fianna Fáil held power again under Jack Lynch (1977–79) and Charles Haughey (1979–81), but lost once more to the Fine Gael. After a brief return to power under Haughey in 1982, it remained in opposition until 1987, when it once again formed a government under Haughey (after 1989 in coalition with the Progressive Democrats). When scandal forced his resignation in 1992, Albert Reynolds succeeded him, heading a Fianna Fáil–Labour coalition.
In the mid-term elections in 2004 Fianna Fail plummeted to its lowest level since the 1920's, mainly due to some bad financial decisions during the present government, and the failure of the government to fulfill many of its election pledges.

Parliamentary groupFine Gael
Information for the partyFine Gael (fē'nə gāl) , Irish political party. Formed in 1933, it was the successor of the party founded by William Cosgrave that held power from the creation of the Irish Free State in 1922 until ousted by the republican Fianna Fáil in 1932. The Fine Gael party accepted the British plan that partitioned Ireland, and has generally been less anti-British than its major opposition. Under John A. Costello, Fine Gael formed coalition governments with the Labour party from 1948 to 1951 and from 1954 to 1957. After a long period in opposition it regained power, again with the Labour party, in 1973; and William Cosgrave's son Liam Cosgrave became prime minister. Except for a brief interruption in 1982, the party held power again from 1981 to 1987, when it was led by Garret FitzGerald. From 1994 to 1997, Fine Gael once more formed a coalition government with Labour, with party leader John Bruton serving as prime minister. Michael Noonan succeeded Bruton as party leader in 2001. Noonan resigned after electoral losses in 2002 and was succeeded by Enda Kenny.
Fine Gael MEPs (5) are part of the European People's Party European Democrats (EEP -ED) group in the European Parliament

Parliamentary groupIrish Labour Party
Information for the partyThe Irish Labour Party is the third largest political party in the Republic of Ireland. In 1912 James Connolly and James Larkin advocated the creation of an Irish Labour party. This party would represent the workers in the expected Home Rule parliament. It was established as a congress of trade unions. The party came into existence in 1914. However, after the failure of the 1913 strike the labour movement was in a bad position. The organisation was in an even worse situation after the emigration of James Larkin in 1914 and the execution of James Connolly in 1916.
In June 2004, Proinsias De Rossa, Labour's sole Member of the European Parliament, was re-elected for a second term. He has occupied one of Dublin's four seats there since 1999. This success was despite the closeness of the race in Ireland, which has lost three seats due to EU expansion in May 2004. Ireland now has 12 MEPs. Fellow Labour Dublin MEP candidate Ivana Bacik was unsuccessful.

Parliamentary groupIndependent
Information for the party

Parliamentary groupProgressive Democrats
Information for the partyThe Progressive Democrats (in Irish An Páirtí Daonlathach) is a free market liberal party in the Republic of Ireland founded in 1985. It is a member of the European Liberal Democrat and Reform Party (ELDR), which is a constituent part of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE). More information on the Progressive Democrats Party you could read in Magazine section in our site – the first issue of 2007 Magazine)

Parliamentary groupIrish Green Party
Information for the partyThe Irish Green Party (in Irish, An Comhaontas Glas) was founded as the Ecology Party of Ireland in 1981. It has succeeded in getting candidates elected to all levels of government; local, Dáil and European Parliament. The Republic of Ireland has a system of proportional representation called the Single Transferable Vote, which gives smaller parties, such as the Green Party, more opportunity to gain representation.
In the general election of 2002 it made a breakthrough, getting 6 TDs (Members of Parliament) elected to the Dáil. However, in the election to the European Parliament of June 2004, the party lost both of the European Parliament seats which it had won in the previous election in 1999.
The Irish Green Party has strong links with its counterpart in Northern Ireland, the Green Party in Northern Ireland, but it has had little success at any level of election in the North. Although it is a member of the European Federation of Green Parties, the Irish Green Party has adopted a notably more eurosceptic stance than is typical of Green Parties in other European Union countries.

Parliamentary groupSinn Fein
Information for the partySinn Fein is an Irish political party (in Gaelic it means “Ourselves Alone”) that has long combatted Great Britain's influence in Ireland and sought the unification of Northern Ireland with the Irish republic in the south; generally considered the political portion of the Irish Republican Army. One wing of it has engaged in terrorism.

Parliamentary groupSocialist Party
Information for the partyAs of 2004, the Socialist Party is Ireland's newest political party. Formerly known as Militant Labour or Militant Tendency, it adopted the name The Socialist Party in 1996. The Socialist Party is a Trotskyist group, which is affiliated to the Committee for a Workers' International
The Socialist Party is organized in both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. They produce a monthly newspaper called The Socialist (formerly Socialist Voice, The Voice, and Militant) and an irregular theoretical journal called Socialist View (formerly Socialism 2000)
Not to be confused with the Irish Republican Socialist Party or the Socialist Workers Party.

The Irish senate (Seanad Éireann)
faction: 166
Chaiperson: Rory Kiely

factionFianna Fail
factionFine Gael
factionIrish Labour Party
factionProgressive Democrats
factionIrish Green Party
factionSinn Fein
factionSocialist Party