European union


The Polish parliament (Sejm lower house)
Chaiperson: Włodzimierz Cimoszewicz
Members: 460

Parliamentary groupLaw and Justice
Information for the partyLaw and Justice (Prawo i Sprawiedliwość) (PiS) is a Polish central-right political party, established in 2001, by the Kaczyński brothers: Lech, the former justice minister and the current mayor of the capital, Warsaw, and Jarosław, who is the President of the party. A large proportion of party members came from the now defunct AWS party. The latest (May 2004) public opinion polls show that PiS is supported by approximately 15% of voters, making it the third leading political power. It is speculated that after the forthcoming elections PiS might come into a coalition with Platforma Obywatelska to form the future government.
In the 2004 European Parliamentry elections, the party came in third, receiving 13% of votes and 7 of 54 seats reserved for Poland in the European Parliament, as part of the Union for a Europe of Nations.
The party won the 2005 parliamentary elections with 27% of the vote.

Parliamentary groupCitizens Platform
Information for the partyCitizens Platform (Platforma Obywatelska) is a Polish conservative-liberal political party, modeled after the two main American parties. It was founded in 2001 by Andrzej Olechowski, Maciej Plazynski, and Donald Tusk. It is the first (and as of 2001 the only) Polish party which has chosen candidates for Parliament using a pre-election process.
The party got 24,1% at 2004 parliamentary elections in Poland.

Parliamentary groupSelf defense
Information for the partyThe Self defense (Samoobrona) is a radical left populist party. The party stake on the discontent of the disappointed, by the reforms, part of the polish citizens, promises an eclectic mix of socialist and liberal decisions of economic and social priorities and problems of the people. The party has hard anti-American positions.

Parliamentary groupAlliance of the Democratic Left
Information for the partyAlliance of the Democratic Left (Polish: Sojusz Lewicy Demokratycznej, SLD) is one of the main Polish social democratic political parties, established on April 15, 1999.
Most of its members had previously been members of SdRP (Socjaldemokracja Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej - Socialdemocracy of the Republic of Poland). SdRP and some other socialist and social democratic parties formed a left-wing coalition called Sojusz Lewicy Demokratycznej (1991-1999). In 1999 the coalition became a party, but lost some members. That coalition was established mostly by former members of communist PZPR (Polska Zjednoczona Partia Robotnicza - Polish United Workers Party), which ruled the People's Republic of Poland with Soviet support before 1989. Today SLD is a pro-European (pro-EU) social democratic party.
The president of SLD is Krzysztof Janik. His predecessor Leszek Miller was the Prime Minister of Poland from 2001 to 2004. The former president of SLD, Aleksander Kwaśniewski, became President of Poland in December 1995.
In the 2004 to the European Parliament, the party received 9% of the votes, giving it 5 of 54 seats reserved for Poland in the European Parliament, as part of the Party of European Socialists.
On the 2005 parliamentary elections the party received only 11,3% of the popular vote.

Parliamentary groupLeague of Polish Families
Information for the partyLeague of Polish Families (Liga Polskich Rodzin) is an opposition party in the Polish Parliament (the Sejm). It was created just before the elections in 2001 and gained 8% of the votes.
Their leader is Roman Giertych. In the 2004 elections to the European Parliament LPR received 16% votes which gave it 15 out of 54 seats reserved for Poland in European Parliament.
The political programme is Christian left. However, recently the party has begun to try to claim it is from the patriotic right. The party combines social conservatism with isolationism and left-wing economic policies, based upon its own interpretation of the Catholic Social Doctrine. The party is fiercely anti-EU and is the only significant political force in Poland that is unconditionally against EU membership.

Parliamentary groupPolish Peasant Party (Polskie Stronnictwo Ludowe, PSL)
Information for the partyThe Polish Peasant Party (PSL) is a nation-wide, centrist party, based on peasant, national
and Christian heritage and it propagates the idea of agrarianism. It is the oldest and largest party in Poland.
The party has around 120,000 members.

Parliamentary groupElection Committee German Minority (Komitet Wyborczy Mniejszość Niemiecka)
Information for the party

Parliamentary groupSocial democratic party of Poland
Information for the partyThe Social democratic party of Poland is a center-left political party, which represent the modern social democratic ideas and values.
The party recieved only 3,9% at the elections 2005, whiche were not enough to get in the Parliament.

Parliamentary groupLabor Union
Information for the partyLabor Union (Unia Pracy) is a Polish political party. It is a member of the Party of European Socialists.
The party got 7.28% of votes in the 1993 parliamentary elections, and had 41 representatives in Sejm. In 1997 it got only 4.74% of votes and not having passed the required 5% threshold, it did not get into the Sejm. In the 2001 elections, it started together with Sojusz Lewicy Demokratycznej and managed to get 16 members of parliament. Some of them have since left to join newly created Socjaldemokracja Polska. Leaders of the party are Izabela Jaruga-Nowacka and Marek Pol.
The party could not win parliamentary seats on the 2005 elections.

Parliamentary groupConservative-People's Party
Information for the partyStronnictwo Konserwatywno-Ludowe (Conservative-People's Party) is a political party in Poland.
SKL politicians entered parliament as members of PO Electoral Committee (Platforma Obywatelska + Stronnictwo Konserwatywno-Ludowe + Unia Polityki Realnej). Several SKL members including its leaders: Jan Rokita and Bronislaw Komorowski decided to join the newly created PO political party, those who refused to join PO, formed a separate SKL political caucus.
The party could not win parliamentary seats on the 2005 elections.

Parliamentary groupCatholic-National Movement
Information for the partyRuch Katolicko-Narodowy (Catholic-National Movement) is a small political group in Polish parliament, MPs elected from the Liga Polskich Rodzin electoral committee.
The party could not win parliamentary seats on the 2005 elections.

Parliamentary groupIndependent
Information for the party

The Polish senate
faction: 460
Chaiperson: Hieronim Pastusiak

factionLaw and Justice
factionCitizens Platform
factionSelf defense
factionAlliance of the Democratic Left
factionLeague of Polish Families
factionPolish Peasant Party (Polskie Stronnictwo Ludowe, PSL)
factionElection Committee German Minority (Komitet Wyborczy Mniejszość Niemiecka)
factionSocial democratic party of Poland
factionLabor Union
factionConservative-People's Party
factionCatholic-National Movement