European union


The Portuguese parliament (Assembleia da republica)
Chaiperson: João Bosco Mota Amaral
Members: 230

Parliamentary groupSocialist Party
Information for the partyThe Socialist Party (Portuguese: Partido Socialista) is a political party of Portugal. It was founded on April 19, 1973 in the German city of Bad Munstereifel, by militants of the Portuguese Socialist Action (Portuguese: Acção Socialista Portuguesa).
The President of Portugal, Jorge Sampaio is a member of the party. The current leader of the party is José Sócrates who won a bid in early October 2004 for the succession of Ferro Rodrigues as Secretary-General of the party.
It is a member of the Socialist International and the Party of European Socialists, and has 12 members in the European Parliament.

Parliamentary groupSocial Democratic Party
Information for the partyThe Social Democratic Party (Portuguese: Partido Social Democrata) is a political party in Portugal. It is commonly known by its initials, PSD.
The party's name can be misleading: it is a party of the centre-right, and does not advocate social democracy in any usual sense of the term. The party's delegates to the European Parliament have, since the late 1990s, sat with the European People's Party, along with the Conservative and Christian Democratic parties of many European countries. Previously, they had sat with the European Liberal, Democrat and Reform Party.

Parliamentary groupPartido Popular
Information for the partyThe Partido Popular (known in English as the People's Party) is a Portuguese political party.
It is regarded as the most right-wing of the parliamentary parties in Portugal, and has historically been close (albeit unofficially) to the Roman Catholic Church. In the 1980s and early 1990s, its members in the European Parliament used to sit with the European People's Party, but are now affiliated with the Eurosceptic Union for a Europe of Nations.
Founded in 1975 by Diogo Freitas do Amaral, the People's Party has been a relatively small, but significant, player on the Portuguese political scene. It enjoyed its greatest popularity in the late 1970s and early 1980s, when together with the Social Democratic Party and a couple of other parties, it formed part of the Democratic Alliance. In 1983 the Alliance was dissolved, and the People's Party lost 16 of its 46 parliamentary seats later that year. In the general elections of 1987 and 1991, the party was decimated as its supporters went over en mass to the Social Democrats, whose leader, Aníbal Cavaco Silva, appealed to the same constituency as the People's Party. Support for the People's Party held up in local government elections, however, as well as for elections to the European Parliament, and its support in parliamentary elections partially recovered, though not to previous levels, after Cavaco Silva retired and some of the party's former supporters returned to the fold. In the three most recent elections, it has won between 12 and 16 seats.

Parliamentary groupPortuguese Communist Party
Information for the partyPortuguese Communist Party (Portuguese: Partido Comunista Português) is a communist party founded in 1921. It has members elected to the European Parliament. They sit in the European United Left - Nordic Green Left group. Its current leader is Jerónimo de Sousa.
It publishes the weekly Avante! (Forward), and also the magazine O Militante.
The youth organization of PCP is Juventude Comunista Portuguesa (Portuguese Communist Youth).
Every year, in the first weekend of September (since 1976) they undertake the building of a gigantic party, Festa do Avante!(currently in Seixal) with the participation of thousand of portuguese and international and national musical bands, debates, and lots more.

Parliamentary groupLeftwing Block
Information for the partyLeftwing Block (Portuguese: Bloco de Esquerda) is a Portuguese left-wing political party founded in 1999.

Parliamentary groupPartido Ecologista "Os Verdes"
Information for the partyPartido Ecologista "Os Verdes" is the Portuguese Green Party. It is closely allied with the Portuguese Communist Party and has no separate leader. Its association to the Communist Party explains their nickname "The watermelons": green outside, red inside.

unicameral parliament
faction: 230

factionSocialist Party
factionSocial Democratic Party
factionPartido Popular
factionPortuguese Communist Party
factionLeftwing Block
factionPartido Ecologista "Os Verdes"