European union


The Parliament of Croatia (Hrvatski sabor) or the Sabor
Chaiperson: Josip Leko
Members: 151

Parliamentary groupSocial Democratic Party of Croatia
Information for the partyThe Social Democratic Party of Croatia (Socijaldemokratska partija Hrvatske), commonly referred to in Croatia as simply the Social Democratic Party (Socijaldemokratska partija, SDP), is the largest political party of the centre-left in Croatia. It is one of the two major contemporary political parties in Croatia, along with the centre-right Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ). The SDP is currently the senior partner in the governing Kukuriku coalition.
The SDP first won power in 2000 general election and formed a coalition government headed by Prime Minister Ivica Račan. After losing the 2003 general election, the party went to opposition where they remained for eight years. In the most recent 2011 general election the SDP won 61 (one of them was elected as an independent, but sits in the SDP parliamentary club) out of 151 seats in the Parliament of Croatia which makes it the largest party in Parliament. The leader of the party, Zoran Milanović, is the current Prime Minister of Croatia.

Parliamentary groupCroatian Democratic Union
Information for the partyThe Croatian Democratic Union (Hrvatska demokratska zajednica, HDZ) is a Christian democratic and conservative political party and the main center-right political party in Croatia. It is one of the two major contemporary political parties in Croatia, along with the centre-left Social Democratic Party (SDP). It is currently the second-largest party in the Croatian Parliament with 44 seats.
The HDZ was founded in 17 June 1989 by Croatian nationalist dissidents led by Franjo Tuđman. The Christian democratic party governed Croatia from 1990 to 2000 and, in coalition, from 2003 to 2011.
After parliamentary election, held in December 2011, HDZ become opposition after 8 years spent in the government. From its foundation, HDZ won the smallest number of votes - 563,215. On 1 July 2013, HDZ received full member status of the European PeopleТs Party (EPP).

Parliamentary groupCroatian People's Party Ц Liberal Democrats
Information for the partyThe Croatian People's Party Ц Liberal Democrats (Hrvatska narodna stranka Ц liberalni demokrati, HNS) is a liberal political party in Croatia. The modern Croatian People's Party was formed in late 1990 by members of the Coalition of People's Accord (Koalicija narodnog sporazuma) which had participated on the first multi-party election of 1990, led by Savka Dabčević-Kučar, Miko Tripalo, Dragutin Haramija and others.
HNS currently forms a parliamentary club with 15 members in Croatian Parliament, 14 elected in regular districts and one representative elected on a national minority list, therefore are the third largest political party in Croatia. The party is an observing member of the Liberal International and a full member of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe Party. HNS is currently led by Vesna Pusić.

Parliamentary groupCroatian Democratic Alliance of Slavonia and Baranja
Information for the partyCroatian Democratic Alliance of Slavonia and Baranja (Hrvatski demokratski savez Slavonije i Baranje, HDSSB) is a regionalist and right wing populist political party in Croatian region of Slavonia.
It was formally founded on May 6, 2006, but had its origins one year earlier, when the group of local Croatian Democratic Union politicians, led by controversial Branimir Glavash, launched a political organisation with a very similar name, the Croatian Democratic Assembly of Slavonia and Baranja (Hrvatski demokratski sabor Slavonije i Baranje) at the eve of May 2005 local elections. The stated aim of new group was the regional reorganisation of Croatia in order to improve conditions in Slavonia, which was - according to Glavaš and his supporters - neglected by central government in Zagreb. In the Croatian parliamentary election, 2007 they received 44,552 votes or 1.8% of the electorate, and won 3 seats in the Croatian Parliament. They improved their position in Croatian Parliament in next election by winning 6 seats.

Parliamentary groupCroatian Labourists Ц Labour Party
Information for the partyThe Croatian Labourists Ц Labour Party (Hrvatski laburisti - Stranka rada) is a left-wing and populist political party in Croatia.
It was formed in 2010 by a former trade unionist and People's Party MP Dragutin Lesar, who was the party's only member of parliament in the 6th assembly.
In the Croatian parliamentary election, 2011, they won six seats in the parliament.

Parliamentary groupIndependent Democratic Serb Party
Information for the partyThe Independent Democratic Serb Party (Croatian: Samostalna demokratska srpska stranka, SDSS, Serbian: —амостална демократска српска странка) is a social democratic political party of Serbs living in Croatia.
It was formed in 1997 as a liberal/social-democrat party said to be based on the doctrine of Svetozar Pribićević's Independent Democratic Party from the Kingdom of Yugoslavia.

In the last Croatian parliamentary election in 2011, they won three seats in the Parliament on the Serbian minority electoral list. They do not participate in the Cabinet of Prime Minister Zoran Milanović.

Unicameral representative body
faction: 151

factionSocial Democratic Party of Croatia
factionCroatian Democratic Union
factionCroatian People's Party Ц Liberal Democrats
factionCroatian Democratic Alliance of Slavonia and Baranja
factionCroatian Labourists Ц Labour Party
factionIndependent Democratic Serb Party